THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

Nairobi to Dar Es Salaam

with 9 comments

During my stay in Kenya, I always heard that there is only one good bus company to go from Nairobi to Dar Es Salaam; if it was your first time traveling this trip that is. This was Scandinavia. It resulted difficult to find it though, as they had moved a bit outside the city centre. So I did not bother and used another company (Sabco). For 22 euros I would be in Dar Es Salaam directly (or that’s what I thought).

 

To cut the story short, it took me 22 hours to get there. It makes you wonder though… Cheap transport in Africa might be a bit dodgy and all but the roads remain the same. On the other hand side, the people are much more sociable in cheap transport. Depending what you want, you choose. The roads though… THEY remain the same. It was quite an experience when we got lost in some Masai lands just after the borders. The driver did not want to use the main road as too many cars were parked in the middle of it. So we improvised. After nearly destroying the tires and the chassis we got on the “main” road.

 

In other anecdotes I met a guy working in the same bus that used to be a sailor, so he was cursing in Greek to me for fun and a Rasta friend of Stephen’s (see Nairobi – The Eastlands post), who was giving the tickets out. He also gave me a reference to go visit a reggae station in Dar Es Salaam. This guy actually made me trust the company and travel with them in the first place.

 

In the course of the journey I socialized with various people and they were all nice and super polite to me. When I finally show the Scandinavia bus in the last stop we made before Dar, I was happy that I had taken Sabco. It was full of tourists and even if it was a bit more comfortable, I would still travel with Sabco again (saved me some money there too).

 

Now I am in Dar Es Salaam, where I live in a friend’s house (Dave’s). It was six years when I last saw him, we were flat mates in the UK during our student years… I will be based here until the 23rd and then off to J’Burg. In the meantime I am planning on visiting Zanzibar and maybe some other smaller islands on the north of Dar. I will include a trekking if possible, I just have to inform myself more on Tanzania.

 

In any case I will keep you posted. Until then, have a good life you all!

 

PS: Oh… one thing I really valued… even if organisation and discipline are not big with Africans, the solidarity and how they help each other in difficult situations are exemplary to us “Europeans”.

Written by csm2mk

November 13, 2008 at 1:02 PM

Posted in Africa

Tagged with , , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice to hear from you and hope that you won’t get bored to post again and again until the end of the (your) year 🙂
    Abrazos!

    alexandra

    November 13, 2008 at 8:28 PM

  2. Bandido

    ¡Viva Sabco! ¡Y Carrfour! Sigue escribiendo que nuestros dientes no paran de crecer. Es un placer leerte, siempre con esa condescendencia hacia el “ciudadano medio europeo”, donde las comillas son tuyas.

    Un abrazo compadre y suerte

    D

    Diego

    November 14, 2008 at 1:00 AM

  3. Thanks Alex! I hope I don’t get bored… I do not think so as so far is more a need than a have-to-do thing!

    Be good!
    Mat

    Diego! Quien eres? El argentino? Puede ser? De todos modos… GRACIAS!

    Un besazo chavalito!
    Mat

    csm2mk

    November 14, 2008 at 9:41 AM

  4. ¿Acaso no reconoces mi avatar? Es el fondo cósmico de microondas…

    Diego, Barcelona-Lausanne

    Diego

    November 14, 2008 at 11:55 AM

  5. Jo… perdon!
    Q tal tio!? Me alegro q pasas por aqui! Es q es la unica forma de comunicar con la gente porque enviar emails a todo el mundo… 😉

    Ya sabes…

    Espero q estes bien por alli e??? Cuidado con los agujeros negros q estoy de viajeee!

    Un beso (ahora si ;))
    Ciao for now!

    csm2mk

    November 14, 2008 at 1:10 PM

  6. Yes, customs are a bit different in Africa. for Europeans it is customed that it is impolite to view a person in transport. but in some other countries this is all roght and people tend to talk to each other, even if they don’t know each other. of course it depends on a person itself, but the country’s social rules of behaivor play important role too.

    Arran Hideaways

    April 14, 2009 at 10:51 AM

  7. yeap you are too right Arran. The only thing I have to add is that we were like this before too 😉 too many gadgets and worries keep us too busy with our little small personal world. 😉 Thanks for passing by!!!

    csm2mk

    April 20, 2009 at 12:36 PM

  8. Good way of explaining, and fastidious piece of writing to take facts about my presentation subject, which i am going to convey in institution of higher education.

  9. However the little jdm zuma Ruckus. Last Super Bowl, RPA created the famous” Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”, only
    this time he is behind the old Ninja 500r that was rated at 59.

    jdm engines

    August 4, 2013 at 11:39 AM


Leave a comment