THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

Books read so far… (11)

leave a comment »

Jack Kerouac’s “Dharma Bums” was to come… and it did come… and I will probably read it many more times too.

Beat Generation’s greatest gives an insight to what happened after the years of “On The Road”; his most famous book. In the character list of protagonists many of his famous friends are included; Gary Snyder, Neal Cassady, Allen Ginsberg and Peter Orlovsky (between others). What a cast and what a story…

The Dharma Bums Deluxe Edition

The Dharma Bums Deluxe Edition

It is one of those books that once you read it, you are not the same person. Or better said, once you read it, your mind runs faster than you could ever do. And mine did. It made me think of my next journey and of the way of travelling. It made me think of travelling lighter (even lighter), spending less and concentrating on one place at a time – instead of being on many places for less time. The story does not matter I think. What matters is that the “backpack revolution” Kerouac is talking about is but to be saved. Can we travellers change the world? Can we change ourselves for this matter?

When the book was out, the critics did not like it at all – even if Kerouac was getting fame at the time. His way of writing is what i loved. Not structured and with harsh traditions it is a bit like the way I write – when I do – in my notepad. Who cares about form when you can transfer the message? All in all it is a great book but for dreamers it can be seriously addictive I found. I shall not read another Kerouac book as long as I am travelling – I might stay on the road for ever….

Written by csm2mk

July 18, 2009 at 4:41 AM

Leave a Reply

