THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

Miri & life on the Southern Sun

with 10 comments

In the last post I mentioned Hans and Rose. Well that is who I met when I flew from Kuching to Miri. They let me live on their boat and even fed me in many occasions – I would have to be their crew while they were out sailing looking for a particular ship wreck. They are a couple from Australia and the last two to three years they are based in Miri doing what they love most – treasure hunting with their yacht.

Mapping for shipwrecks

Mapping for shipwrecks

The deal was ideal. Free scuba diving and food and shelter. In exchange I would have to help with navigation, knots, ropes and all those skipper-related tasks that are needed on the boat while on the sea. Gladly we were joined by Roy, a British gentleman that had way more experience than me – lucky for them. Thus I learned some things about that too!

We had to wait a bit while Roy could say that he would come with us. The days in waiting, I read, visited the Niah Caves (see previous post) and used the free Internet provided on a 3G network on board! Who would have imagined it! Living in the boat beforehand gave me a head start and when on the sea I had no problems adjusting to the whole up and down, right and left movement of the vessel – which proved quite a problem for Rose. I got to know a bit more about the “yachties”, the community of people travelling and living in their ships. I always thought of them as rich with a lot of free time but it is not necessarily always so. A good example was – yet another – Australian couple, Stu and Lisa with their son Fletcher that joined us, arriving in the marina of Miri and staying there for two days. I wish them well wherever they are 😉 Overall a great experience and a great way of travelling – offering yourself as crew in peoples’ ships. It can get you a long way!

At the end we might not have found a shipwreck or a treasure but for me it was already a priceless experience. I hope we all meet again sometime; who knows… at a marina somewhere in the world. Until then safe travels and may the right wind blow on your sails always!

Written by csm2mk

May 30, 2009 at 3:21 PM

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] View post: Miri & life on the Southern Sun « THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL […]

  2. Ping Ping…

    csm2mk

    May 31, 2009 at 3:00 AM

  3. Hi !

    I’m Alexia Mislin, Francis Mislin’s sister. I saw your comment on Francis’s latest post, that’s why I’m actually writing. We haven’t heard from him for two weeks (since the 18 May precisely) and we don’t know where he could be, so we’re rather worried. I know that Francis planned to climb the Mount Kinabalu for the 23th May. It would be really helpful from you if you could tell me the last time you saw or met him, where and when precisely, and the last time you were in touch with him by internet, for instance. Thank you a lot for your help !

    Alexia Mislin (a_mislin@hotmail.com)

    Alexia MISLIN

    June 1, 2009 at 12:54 PM

  4. Hello Alexia,
    Please check your email ok?
    Bizoux!

    csm2mk

    June 2, 2009 at 8:51 AM

  5. Hi Matt,

    I don’t want to ask you if you are enjoying or not, that’s clear. What amazing trip… free scuba diving in Borneo… treasure hunting… That’s a dream!!!!

    Please take care and all the best
    Cheers
    Albert & Raquel

    Albert

    June 2, 2009 at 10:51 AM

  6. Hey Albertus!
    Thanks fo passing by! This was an exception of course 😉
    I did not do Mulu National Park as I wanted but instead I dived where nobody else did before – it is something!
    Kiss Raquel for me!
    I owe you guys a beer – or more – when I come back!
    BBQ at your place???
    Besos y forza Barca!

    csm2mk

    June 2, 2009 at 11:17 AM

  7. Hi Matthew,

    I am in Kota Kinabalu. I stay in the Kinabalu backpackers lodge, Australia place;
    my phone (malaysian) : 016 6890621
    I should stay here two or three days…
    I hope to see you soon.

    Francis (and I am fine)

    Francis

    June 3, 2009 at 5:28 AM

  8. Hi Matt,

    BBQ at our place? the coal is warming and the ribs ready… and of course the beer on the fridge….

    Can’t wait!!

    cheers
    Albert

    Albert

    June 3, 2009 at 12:48 PM

  9. Hello Francis! I hope we meet today then! What a nice coincidence!!!

    csm2mk

    June 4, 2009 at 4:23 AM

  10. MMMMM…. I can smell them from here 😉 Done then!

    csm2mk

    June 4, 2009 at 4:24 AM


Leave a Reply

