THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

Books read so far… (8)

leave a comment »

It was strange but somehow reasonable to read some science fiction book while in a place full of jungle and animal life. Isaac Asimov’s “Foundation’s Edge”, like so many other books, found its way inside my backpack unexpectedly. I picked it up in my first night in Kuching and for starters I thought it is too heavy and bulky for me to carry it. Having read the first chapter though I could not resist keeping it.

The fourth book of the Foundation series

The fourth book of the "Foundation" series

The book was first published in 1982 and its series was and still is one of the classics of the science fiction genre. I have never read the first trilogy but I am sure that I will do if I bump into it in the future. Asimov’s writing is really easy to read and gives the story out without a lot of pauses and waiting. I was actually surprised because I thought he would run out of ways to turn the action towards a new direction! But he did not… he has not made a name for himself for nothing… I always admired people who are capable of creating their own cosmos – a whole universe whereby everything is connected and related to each other. What is Tolkien for the fantasy world is Asimov for the space age.

The three worlds described here; The First Foundation, the Second Foundation and the Gaia are all closely connected and share a common question; where did we come from, where from did we begin? It is twenty thousand years from our time that the story takes place and the people seem to have forgotten this question – until now. If you find it, read it. It will not require much of your brain power but it will sure keep you interested for a couple of days.

Written by csm2mk

May 28, 2009 at 10:24 AM

Leave a Reply

