THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

Cianjur – Yudi’s Homestay Programme

with 3 comments

Cianjur is famous for its rice and its beautiful girls. It is a sprawling centre and it is close to Cibodas – a place admire its botanical gardens and to start the climb of Gunung Gede; a nearly 4000 meter volcanic peak. Its local delicacy is the lontong, a dish of concentrated rice in coconut sauce. But all those reasons to visit this non-touristy town would not be enough for me to be here if it wasn’t for Yudi.

Yudi is a Javanese teacher (amongst other things) that has lived a lot of years in New Zealand. Coming back he wanted to do something for his community so he started his homestay programme. Having a network of friends and family houses, Yudi offers accommodation and three meals a day for the price of 12 USD. This is a very modest amount, taking into consideration that the experience includes teaching in schools, rice field or recycling station work and a visit to a different sight everyday. He has just finished writing a book that will be published this month – I will not be here to celebrate it but I wish him the best of luck with his venture.

The interest of the people to meet foreigners is really big. I have been both in a primary and a high school and the experience made me re-think my career (if any so far ;)). Depending on the way one travels he or she will experience things for the first time or not but one thing is for sure; the appreciation of home cooked meals and mingling with the locals. Also many travelers have this experience at the beginning of their visit to Indonesia, coming from Jakarta. For me it was my last stop and I reckon it helped me look back and evaluate my degree of experience and the proximity of what I lived to the real lives of the Indonesian people.

All in all it is highly recommendable. I know there are more people in Asia doing the running the same programmes so I suggested to Yudi the networking of all these efforts. Whatever attracts travelers without having a commercial outlook needs to be supported, especially in Southeast Asia. So go for it if you are in Java. And while at it give Yudi and his team my regards. I hope we meet again!

PS: Yudi’s email is westjava2002@yahoo.com for anyone interested in visiting or just helping out.

Written by csm2mk

May 11, 2009 at 5:19 AM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent! Thanks for the link and say hello to Cianjur for me! Thanks for everything!!!

    csm2mk

    October 15, 2009 at 1:12 PM

  2. Thanks for the links!!!

    csm2mk

    October 15, 2009 at 1:19 PM


Leave a Reply

