THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

Books read so far… (6)

leave a comment »

“What I wanted from my journey was something so far beyond my comprehension that I would have to step completely out of my skin to understand and become a part of my surroundings…”

Stranger In The Forest

Stranger In The Forest

I do not say this, Eric Hansen does in his book “Stranger In The Forest – On Foot Across Borneo”. When I found this book in the village of Cemero Lawang and before trekking around Bromo, I offered its owner 40,000 Rupiah (about 4 USD) hoping that he would sell it to me. I just had to have it! Malaysian Borneo is my next destination and just like before my visit to Uluru, this book has served as a pump of excitement and knowledge.

Now, many would argue that Mr. Hansen did not do the journey entirely on foot. He got boats upriver and downriver and has waited in villages but this is not the point. The point for me is that what he is describing is a lost world (?). With the logging industry committing literally crimes on the nature of Borneo and its people, I am not sure what Sarawak will look like.  Thirty years have passed since Hansen did his trip. Will I be able to find traces of his? Will the longhouse experiences be similar at all to his? The answer is something I am too eager to see while I will try to follow his path…

A definitely good travel book that will make you wonder; what am I doing siting on my couch? Enjoy!

Written by csm2mk

May 9, 2009 at 9:06 AM

Leave a Reply

