THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

Bali

with 2 comments

Arriving in Kuta, I knew from the beginning there was nothing there to hold me for long – except the night. At the airport I shared a taxi with Joe and Ivan (USA & Serbia respectively). They were to be my companions for the next few days to come. Kuta is the epitome of the Australian and/or British weekend paradise. So we took off soon. It’s only merit maybe; a familiarization with the food names and a general introduction to Bahasa Indonesia.

Kutas alternative name?

Kuta's alternative name?

Ubud was the second stop. Very much nicer than Kuta – but still a bit more crowded with white people than my liking – it was the perfect trip to appreciate Bali and its nature. Its suburbs were the very first rice fields I would see in my life and since then only in Indonesia I have seen many more. The green is lush and everything is blooming. It is the end of the wet season and the start of the dry one. We visited the Monkey Forest and had a first very close approach with those humanoids. Their expressions are just staggering. The real fun begun when we rented some bikes and we went exploring. We saw the temples Goa Gajah, Purah Penatouran Sasih (the Moon Temple) and some kind of way arriving very late the Gunung Kawi. The latter overalls all the experience as it was full of rain and running through deserted streets. Good stuff!

Monkey Forest, Ubud

Monkey Forest, Ubud

After this I had to separate from the guys. I was to go to Tirta Gangga through Candidasa. It was the place I wanted to be in the first place and I was right! It still remains in my heart and many of the Indonesians I meet have never heard of it! In the shadow of the Gunung Anung volcano this rice field paradise is a small village (more like a parking lot with hotels and warungs/restaurants) with smiling people and open hearts. Its water palace is a perfect place for medidation and my breakfasts were just beside it! I walked as much as I could through the rice fields, I got lost, got helped by the local people, got barked at by the local dogs and finally had a hard time to have to go from the place. It’s just made me understand once more that in this trip, big cities were not in the schedule…

Tirta Gangga, The Waters of Ganges

Tirta Gangga, The Waters of Ganges

One sunny morning I took a bemo (public bus) to Amed. The beach was next! Nice place and very pleasant people along with the fact that it was low-season made me have a nice couple of days there. I stayed in Osa Hotel. It is to have a reggae bar so I left a mixed CD that I had – I hope they play it when they finish the bar! The surroundings in Amed are brilliant – a combination of palm trees and beech forest and the sea is warm but still refreshing. I spent much time talking with the local children about their dreams, their studies, their lives in Indonesia and what they think of strangers… It was to be the place of my 30th birthday too!

One of the beaches, Amed

One of the beaches, Amed

I had to pass from Singarajah (meaning the Lion King) to reach Lovina, another watering place. There the highlight was Harris; the owner of Harris Homestay and his German wife Bety. A real artist and a kind person we sat down and talked about all things Indonesia. He showed me his art; tatooes, paintings and T-shirt designs. I can’t thank them enough for their hospitality and after gathering useful information about Java I headed off for the Gilimanuk port. Java was to come.

Written by csm2mk

May 5, 2009 at 11:16 AM

Posted in Indonesia

Tagged with , , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re one of the coolest dudes I know! What a journey, what an adventure. Wish I was on it.

    …oh, and happy belated birthday.

    Ciao.
    MizzB

    MizzB

    May 7, 2009 at 6:22 PM

  2. Hello MizzB!!!
    Who are you? Apologies in advance that I did not recognize you… in any case THANKS A BUNCH!!!
    Besos.
    Mat

    csm2mk

    May 9, 2009 at 8:42 AM


Leave a Reply

