THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

SSI Open Water Diver course

with 4 comments

So I am back in Australia, Byron Bay. My original intention when I got back from NZ was not to stay more than one week here and until now I am keeping this promise to myself. Strangely enough I decided to become a diver in between (something to do while I get ready for the next move) and today I did it! I finished my classes and from now on I can dive in open waters!!!

Starting Tuesday this week, the classes were pretty hectic but once I got the hang of it, there was no problem “graduating”. We have done four dives in open water near the well known (amongst divers) Julian Rocks in Byron Bay. The next dive I plan it to be in the Great Barrier Reef near Cairns. The excitement levels are pretty high especially when I am thinking about underwater photography (yummy).

Choosing between SSI and PADI; the two most popular worldwide known Scuba diving courses, I chose SSI as it is more flexible when taught. At the end of the day they are both acknowledged and prepare you for exactly the same thing; being able to breath underwater. I also have to thank my instructor Mick for his patience and send him a big “G’day!” if he ever reads this. We were lucky to have seen many marine species in only four dives; green sea turtles, leopard sharks and so much more whose names I do not even remember but have written in my diver’s log (hehehe).

That is all for now, I’ll let you know the exact route of the rest of my time in Australia soon (probably weekend). For now, be good and d(r)ive safe 😉

Scuba Schools International

Scuba Schools International

Written by csm2mk

February 26, 2009 at 2:09 PM

Posted in Australia

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry, but SSI sucks and PADI even more. Stay away from those people!

    See you underwater!

    Diego

    February 27, 2009 at 12:18 AM

  2. I don’t get what you are saying Diego.
    Why it sucks?
    And to stay away from those people is already very late 😉
    Explain yourself man!
    Ciao!

    csm2mk

    February 27, 2009 at 1:19 AM

  3. Of course learning something is about teachers and students and not organizations, and your teacher may be a very good one. However, PADI and SSI are known for the low quality of their training and are very much responsible of making diving a “sport” for the Sunday.

    This means that the possibility of accidents increases by a a crazy factor, and you find people underwater that, first, are completely careless of the underwater life and second put themsleves and their buddies in risk. Most of the times, this people was “given” their qualification in a PADI center.

    I was a PADI OWD and my last degree (Nitrox) is also PADI, but I have done all the advanced courses with other organizations that give you a much better training. Besides, PADI or SSI do not transmit the respect for Nature, or danger, and, as organizations, they are made with thousands of branches that make you made a lot of stupid courses, pay for them, and still are useless to develop good diving skills.

    Diego

    February 27, 2009 at 8:10 PM

  4. When doing it I did not have this feeling at all. But anyway I understand they are the famous ones and all that but you have to see that I am traveling and those 2 are the most acceptable ones.
    In any case can you send me an email with other alternatives and/or experiences you had with SSI?
    Thanks for the info man 😉

    csm2mk

    February 28, 2009 at 1:36 AM


Leave a Reply

