THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

Takaka to Christchurch

leave a comment »

Takaka is a very beautiful hippie (mostly) village on the Golden Bay area of NZ. We stay at Barefoot Backpackers run by a Scottish lady and her partner; really good people. The next day we say goodbye to Stefania and drive with Nils back to Westport. Tinka is there waiting for us and we all decide to drive to Greymouth. I did not see much of the Golden Bay but I have the feeling it is very nice. Even nicer than the Gold Coast in Australia maybe… Especially Takaka strikes me as a village similar to Byron Bay but less touristic and spoiled. If I ever go back to New Zealand again I promise to start my trip from Takaka! In Westport we have our last dinner together. Steaks and wine!

Being here works perfect for me as I can now take the Tranzalpine train to Christchurch. The route is thoughtfully called one of “the greatest train rides of the world”. It takes me about five hours (with a bit of a delay) and passes from Arthur’s Pass, a magnificent section of the Southern Alps. Once in Christchurch I have three days to relax and basically hang out until I go back to Oz. Consumption habits kick in and I buy a second hand Lonely Planet book on “Southeast Asia On A Shoestring”. It makes me start thinking about the rest of my destinations. Yummy!!!

See you back in Australia then, ciao!

Written by csm2mk

February 22, 2009 at 1:51 AM

Leave a Reply

