THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

Books read so far…

with 6 comments

As I have plenty of time here in the farm, I thought I’d write a few things about the books I have read since I began traveling and the ones to come also. Here they are then:

Karnak Cafe by Naguib Mahfouz

This book was given by my sister before I started traveling. Back then I thought I was going to Egypt so I was very happy to have it. When I read it I was happy anyway, even if I have never been to Egypt. I promise I will some day though.

Mahfouz tells the story of cafe Karnak, its people and the events that took place in June 1967. The so-called Six-Day War had a great effect on the collective psyche of the Egyptian people and the writer graphically shows exactly this.

Naguib Mahfouz

Naguib Mahfouz

Zen And The Art Of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig

Described as a “philosophical novel” this book was a nightmare to finish! Pirsig is basically writing a travel novel which includes his notion of “metaphysics of quality”. The basic question asked here is; what is quality? Nobody can say, everybody agrees when they see it and without it life would have no meaning! Pretty interesting stuff and for the days it was written (1974) pretty progressive too.

The whole book is available on the book title’s link. More information on the main notion of the book can be found on the second link.

An enquiry into values

An enquiry into values

Now,  as far as the ones to come are concerned I have already purchased, in a second-hand shop in Byron Bay, two books of John Steinbeck, the author of the infamous “The Grapes Of Wrath” and “East Of Eden”. Those are the “Of Mice And Men” and “Cannery Row”. They will be “eaten” in a short time I reckon as the time is on my side here.

Until the next post, be good!

Written by csm2mk

January 13, 2009 at 9:01 AM

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Now you should jump to the Cairo trilogy…

    Diego

    January 13, 2009 at 7:25 PM

  2. Yeap I heard about this one 😉 Have you read it?

    csm2mk

    January 14, 2009 at 11:40 AM

  3. Just the first volume. Superb, I really like arabic literature (the few books I know).

    Diego

    January 14, 2009 at 2:43 PM

  4. It is good isn’it? They say that especially arabic poetry makes women have an instant orgasm (if read in Arabic of course) 😉
    I might just try that 😉

    csm2mk

    January 16, 2009 at 2:21 AM

  5. ου ρε λιγούρι! χχχχχχχχ!!

    0 Comments

    January 16, 2009 at 7:16 PM

  6. Ase ase… ASEEE to ti vlepoun ta matakia mas… pali kala pou edo stin NZ exei mono hobbits 😉
    Giaaaaaaa su re Italeeee!!!

    csm2mk

    January 17, 2009 at 9:34 PM


Leave a Reply

