THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

Nairobi – The Eastlands

with 2 comments

As much as I care to compare with other capitals, Nairobi city centre is a polluted, noisy and dirty city. It has a fame of being dangerous to the tourist (and obviously more to the touristy tourist) not so much in terms of physical harm but in terms of getting robbed. That’s why they also call it Nai-robbery. I luckily had no such experience, even if in my 2 first nights there I was circulating in the only place I should not have.

In any case, my visit to the Eastlands slums (as opposed to the Westlands rich area), would give me a more objective picture of Kenya.

My hosts were Stephen along with his flat mate David. Stephen is a clean-hearted 26 year old Rasta that does his best to help his community. In this case he definitely helped me as well. David is also a brilliant guy with a wife and a child daughter. I stayed two nights in their humble house and for once more I realized that money only make worry about it. In the slum, people are poor but they sure know how to smile. I also met Philip, an acrobat that just came back from the Canary Islands. They had a show there and will be going to Spain again to perform in Christmas.

The children were always shouting “muzungu!” (white) to me as I was the only not black person there. They learned my name and we played along for a bit. My feelings towards them are beyond my English skills to describe…

The story of the Eastlands is much like those of others slums and townships in Kenya. Houses made of clay and mud (at the very best), people only recently being introduced to money and still using the exchange system and the terrifying presence of churches and white priests all around. The church is the definite controller of the premises. If somebody has a car or better clothes than the normal he is either a gangster or church-related. In any case, the Eastlands will always remain in my heart, for ever.

Surely Obama’s presidency will not affect people from there, but they are surely happy about his election. Let us see what reality holds for them …

Written by csm2mk

November 13, 2008 at 12:17 PM

Posted in Africa

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hellow muzungu Mat !
    All in order.
    Huppy to hear and read from you
    We wish you safe and happy trip
    Kisses from Barbara and Me

    Army Aviator

    November 13, 2008 at 6:07 PM

  2. Thanks! I’m fine and well no worries!
    Ciao for now!

    csm2mk

    November 14, 2008 at 9:44 AM


Leave a Reply

