THE THREE ALPHA TRAVEL

… Africa, Australia (+ New Zealand) and Asia

On travel photography (part two)

with 2 comments

Panasonic DMC LX3

Panasonic DMC LX3

Luckily enough a 28 km trekking route on the Catalunyan Pyrenees helped me understand that carrying around my 350D is not a good idea. I used a belt-striped case and carried the 350D along with the Tokina 12-24. I thought that it would be a light choice but… I was really happy to leave it in the hotel for the second day.

So I had to go out and buy a compact. A good one. I finally ordered the Panasonic Lumix LX3. I wanted a light and capable camera and this one seems to do the trick. Its F2.0-F2.8 24-60mm (35mm equivalent) Leica lens it is exactly what I would like for the trip. My first thought was the Canon G9, but it was heavier and not so bright.

For the test drive and sample photos I will keep you posted.

PS: As a new camera marks a new era of uplaoding too, I created a second Flickr account. There I plan to upload only photos from the trip. The link is: http://www.flickr.com/photos/csm2mkrtw/sets/

Ciao for now!

Written by csm2mk

October 26, 2008 at 5:00 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Mat

    Brand new camera e!
    You could have told me not to take your old Powershot, Mat!
    Any way, have fun with the new one.

    Army Aviator

    October 28, 2008 at 3:58 PM

  2. Yeap! Had to do it…
    The old Powershot is not much… you can have it no problems!
    I will keep you posted on the photos 🙂
    Thanks for passing by!

    csm2mk

    November 1, 2008 at 11:39 AM


Leave a Reply

